What does the EYFS cover?

It covers the welfare and development of children.

The welfare section covers:

  • Basic checks, such as ensuring staff have undergone all relevant security checks
  • Facilities and equipment safe and suitable for children
  • Quality of the environment, for example, it recommends there should be some access to outdoor space

The development section covers:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and literacy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development